The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato
Professional & Organisational Development Unit
Home Waikato Home > POD > Leadership > Women in Leadership Staff + Student Login

Waikato Women Professors


Professor Moira Steyn-Ross

Role: Professor of physics 
Faculty: Faculty of Science and Engineering
School: Engineering 


Faculty Profile

Research Expertise

  • Theoretical modelling of the brain, with particular emphasis on deriving equations to describe the essential clinical features of general anaesthesia, sleep, passive and active cognition
  • Stochastic processes
  • Spatiotemporal pattern formation in biological systems far from equilibrium
  • Quantum optics
  • Satellite remote sensing

Teaching Areas/Programmes

  • Undergraduate theoretical physics: Special and general relativity, quantum mechanics, nuclear physics, solid state physics, electromagnetic theory, biophysics
  • Graduate level: Quantum field theory

Academic and Professional Leadership Roles

  • Member of the 2012 PBRF Physical Sciences Panel
  • Member of the Review Panel for the Physics Department at Victoria University NZ, 2007
  • Elected to International Union of Pure and Applied Physics Commission C6 (Biophysics), 2003-2009
  • Physics Programme Coordinator, University of Waikato, 2007 - ongoing
  • Chairperson, Department of Physics and Electronic Engineering, January 2002 to July 2005
  • Theoretical Leader of Waikato Cortical Modelling Group, 1997 -  ongoing
  • Member of NZ institute of Physics, 1987 - ongoing


  • Principal Investigator Marsden Award, “Brain Connections via Turing Patterns”,   $600,000, 2007 - 2009
  • Principal Investigator Marsden Award, “Physics of Sleep Cycles”,   $660,000, 2003 - 2005
  • N.Z. Universities Grants Committee Postgraduate Scholarship, 1979–81
  • Waikato Federation of University Women Postgraduate Fellowship, 1980

This page has been reformatted for printing.